Fishin Musician.. Not getting old just getting SLOWER!

Fox River - Northern Illinois
Fishing Information & Reports

Fishin Musician.. Not getting old just getting SLOWER!

Postby Fishin Musician » Apr Sat 28, 2018 6:36 pm

So Here is my Report. I do not post that often but I have a few years of experience on the Fox and I do truly love this river. I have been out 2 times this week and the river is pretty murky, with below visibility. When I was working out of Batavia Bait an Tackle providing Guided trips, I spent A LOT of time on the river. I actually forget sometimes the lessons learned now that I am not that often wading the Fox. I was down stream from Island park which has completely changed since the bridge at Wilson ave was replaced( Not for the better in my Opinion). I had a ferocious hit so I knew it would be a small fish and it came out of a current break not too far from shore. Was throwing Slider head and a 3 inch crank . I then had the brilliant idea to walk a ways downstream. I have crossed the Fox in many places so many times.. Here is the public service part of this report and actually the reason I'm posting. For the most part I fish alone, love the freedom, solitude and the fact my wife moved out here for me 13 years ago so I could soak the soul whenever I felt the need! I walked with the current ans I felt like a was literally gliding down to the next spot when I started to move laterally to the west and that is when reality hit me square in the face. I was stuck.. not like stuck,like glue (Thanks Sugarland) but not able to gain against current and river flow. I started to get fatigued pretty fast and for awhile figured I was going to be swimming in my waders( Not Suggested) or worse!! I used to wear a flotation vest but gave that up a long time ago , in hindsight I was smarter then than I am now.. or at least not as confident. I checked the CFSwhen I got home and it was 2400 WAY TO FAST for crossing the main channel where I had ventured but God is