How many Musky?

Busse Lake - Elk Grove Village, IL
Fishing Information & Reports

How many Musky?

Postby monty » Jun Sun 16, 2019 9:18 am

I'm new to Busse, I fished last season for the first time. Still figuring the lakes out, but I have caught a ton of bass there.
My question is how many of you get Musky while fishing for bass? I was lucky enough to get there two times last week and had Musky run ins two times. First Musky hit a jig about 10 feet from the boat, had him on until he thrashed at the boat and bit me off. I would say it was about 40-42". I have caught hundreds of pike this size so I know what they look like. The second time was about 35" Musky that also hit a jig, it was the hardest freshwater fish strike I have ever felt, it also bit me off at the boat. It's making me want to fish for Muskies now. All of last season, and this season I had one bite off total from a smallish toothy fish up until this week. How many of you guys use leaders on the regular?
monty
Minnow

Re: How many Musky?

Postby joetrain » Jun Sun 16, 2019 10:03 am

All my musky catches have been in pursuit of other species. When I fish toothy water I use a leader. If you got bit off twice use a leader or really heavy braided line. I don’t think it will scare off any other fish and you won’t be leaving your lures in a fishes mouth.
~JOE~
A Dio sia la gloria
joetrain
Ichthyoid Artimus

Postby Woohoodude11 » Jun Sun 16, 2019 6:22 pm

One time is my answer for bass fishing and getting a musky. And actually, it was just an outing to make sure i respooled my reel good. Hot, sunny, and fishing topwater lol.

As for leaders, like Joe said since last year if I know I'm in toothy water I've adopted Heddonfrog's 6" 20 lb. Steel leaders. Theyre short enough that they're harder for a fish to see and won't interfere with the lure's action. You also don't need to make awkward casts that long leaders have you make.
Lets Go Sharks!

FB|IG|Twitter|Snap @woohoodude11
Woohoodude11
Ichthyoid Artimus