Do I have this outboard correctly priced on marketplace?

Fishing tips, fishing questions, fishing information, whatever... post here. Not Chicago specific.

Do I have this outboard correctly priced on marketplace?

Postby catchafew » Jun Tue 22, 2021 10:32 am

Since you all likely live many hours from me, hopefully I can get some honest opinions about what I should list this motor at. I'm not an expert on marketplace selling either but I'm guessing I'm way too low. Did casual Craigslist searches and WORKING small outboards seem to start at $300 so I figured $150 for a non working motor would be reasonable?

I listed motor last night at 22:30 at $150 and by this morning I had 16 people message me, some multiple times to buy it on the spot. One guy even offered me $175. Here's how my listing read:

"2hp, 4 stroke outboard motor with 20" shaft. I think the motor weighs around 25 pounds.

I got this motor used years ago and it did run when I purchased it but I ended up never using it. I emptied out the gas and kept it in my basement. I did run a compression test back then and she had good compression.

Anyway I'm not sure she'll run but we can fill up a barrel with water and try if you're serious. Likely this motor might be for someone who's a gear head to get her running. This would be an ideal motor for a squareback canoe or small rowboat."

Motor has a cracked off carrying handle when I got it, I have little patience for tinkering with gas motors I found out about myself as the years went on but Northwoods people like to tinker and fix everything. Give me databases to build, some flat files and SQL and I'm a pig in shit but I retired from working on cars years ago.

Btw, I yanked the listing. Trying to de-junk my house but want to be wise about things. I'm hoping to figure out a way to make my marketplace listings be more like eBay going to highest bidder. Might just say person with the highest bid in 5 days gets it. But