New to fishing

From the south suburbs to the northwest suburbs, the Des Plaines River provides some excellent fishing opportunities.

New to fishing

Postby dsw1204 » Sep Wed 11, 2019 3:09 pm

Hi, I am new to fishing and want to fish the Des Plaines River, probably around the Lemont area. I hear Northern Pike are somewhat prevalent in the river. Are Pike the most prevalent? If so, what are the best lures to use? If not, what fish are the most abundant in the river?

For Pike, I was planning on using some Mepps Giant Killer spinners and maybe some square bill crankbaits. Any other recommendations?
dsw1204

Re: New to fishing

Postby joetrain » Sep Wed 11, 2019 4:32 pm

Try some big Rapala minnow type baits like model J13. Spoons are a good choice and the good old jig/twister combination.

Your best bet is to search this site and see what all the DPR guys have used. There are plenty of posts to glean info from.
~JOE~
A Dio sia la gloria
joetrain
Ichthyoid Artimus

Postby dsw1204 » Sep Wed 11, 2019 5:52 pm

joetrain wrote:Try some big Rapala minnow type baits like model J13. Spoons are a good choice and the good old jig/twister combination.

Your best bet is to search this site and see what all the DPR guys have used. There are plenty of posts to glean info from.
~JOE~
Thanks for the info. Are pike the most populous fish in the Des Plaines River? How about smallmouth? Are there good numbers of them in the river?
dsw1204

Postby Grain » Sep Wed 11, 2019 6:35 pm

Grain
Game Fish

Postby Rambler » Sep Wed 11, 2019 8:03 pm

What Joe said. Buzzbaits work in flat water and spinner baits are a good bet too. And don't forget chatterbaits.
Keep calm and fish on...

There's a fine line between fishing and just sitting there looking stupid
Rambler
Ichthyoid Artimus

Postby vman01 » Sep Thu 12, 2019 1:21 am

Welcome to the WCF.