Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
5,838 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I finally got kicked off for good from one of my favorite ponds near home a few weeks ago. Bummer as I've been fishing it for about 5 years now. The neighbors would call the cops on me several times a year. I'd look up and see this

and talk the officer, but there was nothing they could do but wish me luck and leave. This last time it was the homeowners association that called and complained, so yet another favorite nearby pond is scratched off my list.

While hunting for some more close to home ponds, I stumbled onto one that has gills, perch, bass and crappies. (like most ponds around here) With the warmup, I squeezed a couple of hours of fishing in this morning.

The gill bite was almost completely dead and only managed a couple of little guys like this.

With some hole hopping, I got into some decent perch.

I caught everything on a yellow/orange Genz Bug with spikes

I caught 10 perch total. 8 decent, 2 dinks and 5 from one hole.

·
Registered
1,611 Posts
nice pond perch!! bummer you got booted from the other one..

i have a friend who lives off a private pond that supposedly has "a crappie" problem that i've been itching to check out. he welcomed me to his pond to take some home and cook up 8)

·
Registered
2,635 Posts
Nice Perch Ron!!! That's the way to do it man! 8)

Sorry to hear about the one pond you no longer can fish. Looks like you found another one though!

·
Registered
3,785 Posts
Sucks that you lost a pond but looks like you overcame that quickly. You must live in a special area cuz I can't think of one pond around that holds perch...and nice perch at that. Nice haul!

·
Registered
5,838 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
JB said:
Sucks that you lost a pond but looks like you overcame that quickly. You must live in a special area cuz I can't think of one pond around that holds perch...and nice perch at that. Nice haul!