Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2,401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I am a teacher, I can only fish on the weekends. :( Because of this I can't wait until Christmas break. The week of New Years I plan on fishing five different lakes (or rivers) in five different days.

The problem is that I haven't fished much in NW Chicago, especially during the month of January (never been ice fishing). I would love it if as many people as possible could post their top five Chicago winter fishing spots (Preferably not ice fishing spots, because I don't own the equipment; unless someone wanted to show me the ropes . . .).

After I compile my list of places (based on your posts) I will write separate posts for each spot I intend on going for more info on location, bait and overall presentation.

I know this is early to start talking about. However, if I have a solid plan I feel that it can lead to five quality reports in the first week of January.

Thanks for all of your help,

-Islander :D

·
Registered
5,181 Posts
1.You can probably fish for perch down on the lakefront. Navy Pier is probably your best bet if you don't want to fish through the ice.

2. You can always fish the Warm Water Discharge at Busse during the winter months.

3. The Northshore Channel of the Chicago River would be another place to try, as there is a discharge there as well between Oakton and Howard.

·
Premium Member
2,602 Posts
theres the fox river warm water discharge. not exactly sure where that is. jnapodano or mrb should be able to point you in the right direction.

i haven't tried it but there are a couple warm water discharges on the big pond. i believe you can fish the comed plant by waukegan and the amoco discharge on the south side. i think the amoco discharge is in indianas waters however.

or you can head way south and go to texas or florida for some southern bass!

·
Registered
5,181 Posts