Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Irony Strikes Again! I'm new to fishing, only been doing this for about a year. Got out to Beck today at about 2pm and fished untils 5:30. Within first half hour of being there using a red/white chatterbait, landed a 33" Northern Pike. This was my biggest and baddest fish I've ever caught since I started fishing. Didn't even know northerns were in there. It fought hard, made three drag peeling runs(man I love that sound) and one above surface attempt but finally was able to bring her in. Met a nice guy who helped me once I got her to the shore named kevin (says he browses this site periodically) I asked him jokingly to chime in to verify this fish as I forgot my friggin camera at home. Only time this year I forgot the camera. Go figure. Switched to green pumpkin senkos after that and landed a 14" LMB after that. Cast back out and got a strike within about 5 seconds of it being in the water, set the hook, wrestled a little and then lost another LMB in the heavy weeds. Missed one other hit a half hour later and then had no action until I left. All the action was between 2 - 3pm. The bright sun came out from behind the clouds after that and had me sweating and the fish sleeping.

Man I wish I had my camera.

Cest le Vie Guess I'll just have to go back there tommorow and catch her again for the photo op.

·
Administrator
5,357 Posts
Brian... holy shit!!! A 33" northern pike from Beck!? As i've said/posted again and again... the northern are in there, but not common for the average fisherman.

Can we all kick your butt for not having a camera? :lol: :shock:

Well... I'll take your word for it. Great to have your aboard WCF, especially with a report like that. Good job, dude!

·
Registered
5 Posts