Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I am trying to give flathead fishing a try, and it seems that live bluegill are the way to go.

I am new to this kind of fishing so would anybody mind explaining EXACTLY how to set up the rig? What type / size hooks? What size sinkers?

Also where would be a good place to start in the aurora area? Is just down from the north aurora dam near the southern end of the island as good a place as any to start? We had some luck with channels there, and my friend caught a smallish flathead with a crankbait when we were trying for smallies?! We are stuck on shore by the way.

Also anybody had any luck with crayfish? Thats about the only thing I have ever personally had any luck with for flatheads. We only got smaller ones (around 2 footers), but I have never stayed out much past 8pm when it seems the big boys come out.

Any other pointers are very welcome, Thanks!

·
Registered
38 Posts
The setup is easy enough. Mind you, a lot of this is a matter of personal choice. A few on here fish with very light line and enjoy the fight of it. I fish with 50 lb. braid and a 30 lb. braid leader, and horse 90% of my fish in. I enjoy catching fish more than the fight, but that's up to you.
So...with that said, here's the setup that I use on all of my poles:

Heavy pole, 7-8 feet long, with a big open-faced reel and 50 lb. braid line. I've used mono, and the only preference I have for braid is that it's smaller diameter makes casting easier, it doesn't spool up when off the reel, and it's heavier than most common monofilaments. Braid also does not stretch, so I don't have to rip my arms out of socket if I miss a fish, because with braid, I just don't have to set the hook so hard.
Put a sliding bullet sinker on the line, and tie a decent sized snap swivel at the end of the line.