Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
597 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
sorry im asking all these questions about flourocarbon line latley but im new with fluoro line so bear with me.

in lakes were fish are line shy like delavan and geneva can i use a fluorocarbon leader when im using fluorocarbon as a mainline. i would hate to be using one of my favorite crank baits for bass and have a toothy pike or muskie come and bite it off.. would that work??

what brand of fluoro leaders are the best in your opinion. what lb test leader?

still with this annoying knot problem what knot works the best for mainline fluorocarbon to a snap or anything esle. ive mastered the trilene knot and that seems to help. but the palamar knot is so easy.

sorry about all the fluorocarbon ?s latley

thanks for all your help
dom

·
Registered
5,181 Posts
Fluoro leaders are used when you are using a superline like a braid or Fireline to disguise the line when the water is really clear. Fluoro appears invisible under water. Why would you want to use a fluoro leader when you are using fluoro line? If it is because you want to fish for northerns, then I would just just a steel leader. I only use steel leaders when I am specifically targeting pike because it will have a negative effect on bass.

·
Registered
1,587 Posts
Given the cost of fluoro carbon line, I wouldn't spool your entire reel with this. All you need is about a yard or so as a leader. I find that a uni-to-uni knot is very simple and can hold big fish. Everyone has their favorite as far as brand. The line test will depend on what your fishing for. They say that you can go one class up from what main line you're using (eg: you can use 25lb fluoro leader on 20lb main line).

·
Registered
122 Posts