Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Went to a watering hole near Milwaukee & Aptakisic with a buddy of mine. After a couple of hours of nothing, I finally landed a 2 lb. bass and had another one get away.

And then.... right when we were going to leave, I tossed my lure across the front end of some tall grass.... and this hits! My buddy thinks it may have been over a 4/5 pounder (sorry, I'm not good at guessing... I'm still a fishing novice).

Attachments

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
6" power bait worm texas rigged style (green w/ red flakes).... what's interesting is the fish didn't hit hard... I actually thought I snagged some weeds so I was just pulling very cautiously. He gulp down the whole setup before I realized I had something.

My buddy tried every kind of setup (cranks, buzz baits, plastics, frogs, etc.) and nothing hit. I guess since I'm lacking in the gear department, I just kept the same rig. They finally starting hitting after a long time.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
In google maps, it's the lake on the east side of Milwaukee across from the corporate center ponds. By the way, are all these ponds up in this area old quarry pits?

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Went back to this spot... landed this one after the 4th cast using a wacky worm setup. Then got the skunk for the rest of the morning. Had another still of it up against my arm and came out to be 19", so ~4.25lbs. It's a weird spot for me, I can land one big one... then nothing the rest of the time. I even checked the stripping to make sure it wasn't the same bass from the first time.

Attachments

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·