Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I am still kind of new to fishing and I would like to know how to fish a twister tail? The twister tails I have already have Jig heads ran through them.

Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
5,838 Posts
Bottom fishing in either a lake, pond or river you can do most everything with them from swimming them, pops, jumps, pauses on the bottom w/twitches or a combination of any of the above. You can experiment with what is working on a particular day and fine tune that. This time of year with the cold water, you need a very slow approach.

For smaller twisters, like 1 or 2" on a 1/32 oz jig, you can fish them by themselves or under a bobber. Again, fine tune to what is getting you the most hits and work slowly with the current cold water.

Also good is a jig with live bait like a minnow or nightcrawler piece. It's about the only lure you can stop dead if you get some bites, then wiggle or twitch it unti the fish picks it up. If you get a missed hit on a spinner or crankbait all you can do is re-cast. You can't let it drop and expect the fish to continue to hit it laying on the bottom.

I use jigs more than anything else in my fishing.

·
Registered
216 Posts
Straight retrieves work the best for me. I let the jig fall to the bottom (sometimes you'll get strikes on the fall). Then point the rod tip up allowing some slack line, and just reel it in slowly allowing it to make contact with whatever is on the bottom - let it fall occasionally. I don't get many strikes jigging, popping, or twitching it, unless you count vertical jigging from boats or piers.

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
early spring ice out time, I get more fish (smallies & walleyes) dragging or crawling across the bottom. An occassional slow lift and flutter fall can induce strikes, as well as a pause twitch-twitch pause approach.

·
Super Moderator
6,307 Posts