Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5,815 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using a 2 gallon bucket lid on my auger for a few years now to save the auger from disappearing down an icehole if it should come unchucked from the drill. It was cheap, worked great, but didn't fit well in my new Clam Scout shanty.

Here's a homemade take-off I came up with that is similar to what Ice Master is selling. I think theirs is just a plastic disc on a bungee - I was able to incorporate some real bearings in my gadget.

I had some parts laying around from a exercise treadmill that I scrapped the parts off of, including the long rollers for the mat.

I cut off the end of the roller that also included the pulley for the drive belt.

The bearing hole was too small to fit the Nimrod auger adapter I use through it, so I spent about 20 minutes with a Dremel grinding wheel to enlarge the hole to allow the Nimrod to slip through.

Then just a couple of holes were drilled into the pulley for the hooks of a strong bungee cord.

The bungee cord is tight and will keep the auger attached to the drill should the chuck loosen.

I just walked over to the home pond and tried it and it's working better than expected. It's much better than the bucket lid I was using. Some guys are using plexiglass or metal discs, but those might pose a hazard of cutting yourself. I've even heard of someone using a horizontal metal bar. Maybe it's good for his use, but I see some risk of standing on slippery ice with a spinning bar on a high torque drill at groin level. :oops: :oops:

·
Registered
2,627 Posts
sweet set-up... Almost looks like a harmonic balancer without the rubber seal... :p (AKA' Truck part)

·
Registered
229 Posts
RonG said:
I've even heard of someone using a horizontal metal bar. Maybe it's good for his use, but I see some risk of standing on slippery ice with a spinning bar on a high torque drill at groin level. :oops: :oops: