Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to fishing, been fishing 3-4 times/ week for the last 2 months, and have had fairly good luck with plastic worms (mainly wacky rigged). I generally wait a fair amount of time when I feel the nibble and see my line go down before I set the hook as this is how i learned to do it. However, today I hooked two bass through the gills and for sure one didn't make it. Being a sportsman, I always catch and release and hate to see a good fish die. Am I waiting too long to set the hook? Should I set it right when I feel the nibble? Any suggestions would be appreciated as I don't want to kill any more fish. Thanks guys.

-Pete
North Chicago fisherman

·
Registered
826 Posts
Pete,

There are going to be some times when you guthook a fish and there is nothing you can do about it. Don't worry too much about it. It happens.

I fish the wacky worm a lot and the fish don't always hit the same way so there is not one answer that always applies. I don't think you can set it too fast but you can definitely wait too long. If you are always waiting for the fish to swim off, you'll miss fish because they drop it and you'll also gut-hook more than you care to since they'll swallow it.

I think this whole question come down to the subtle, hard-to-detect strikes. The bass with obvious line-jumping or line swimming-off strikes are easy to catch. It's the questionable hits that are tough. If I am unsure of a hit, I set the hook if I feel weight. Since I fish the wacky on semi-slack line, when I feel a possible hit, I'll reel up the slack and if I feel weight, I'll set it. Now sometimes if the fish are aggressive and it's an obvious hit, I won't even wait till I feel weight; I detect the hit, reel up the slack, and set it all in one motion.