Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im looking to start learning how to use baitcasters, Im a baitcaster noob :D After being a spinning guy all my life I want to see what the hype is about these baitcasters :p Im looking for a rod and reel combo for around $150. Any advice? After doing some research Ive found that people prefer Shimano's and Curado's, but Im not sure which to get :p And another thing, I will be going to the Rosemont convention center for the Outdoors Show and I was wondering if I should wait to see what kind of deals I could find there, if any haha.

·
Registered
1,322 Posts
Depends on what you will be fishing for. My opinion: General use bass, walleye, catfish etc... an overall good rod choice would be a 6' 6" or 7' Medium or Medium Heavy action rod with a Fast tip. Any of the big names make good equipment, Abu Garcia, Berkely, Daiwa, Shimano etc.

Get something good from the get go too, I originally got an "economical" (under $100) combo to learn with, and got kinda frustrated until I upgraded to a better reel.

Look around at Cabela's, BPS Gander Mountain websites to find something in your price range. Then go take a "feel" and compare a few in the stores to see what you think before buying.

Just my .02

·
Registered
5,181 Posts
Go to BPS and pick up a Revo S. Then tell the guy at the reel counter that you want to make it a combo. They will pair it up with one of their rods for a substantial discount. :wink:

·
Registered
597 Posts
toothdoc said:
Go to BPS and pick up a Revo S. Then tell the guy at the reel counter that you want to make it a combo. They will pair it up with one of their rods for a substantial discount. :wink: