Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Banned
655 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This Friday, I get done with my one and only class at 1115am and will have approximately 4-5hrs to kill until the party/going out with lady occurs.

Anyone have any suggestions with the harbor fishing? I'm a noob and have never fished any of them before.

I'll be up at Loyola at the Lakeshore campus (Near Sheridan & Bryn Mawr). I think the closest harbors are Belmont and Montrose (i think??).. not sure.

I'll be after the Bass for sure.

But what about casting for Salmon? Are they in yet? If I just want to C&R them, do I still need a trout/salmon stamp?

Also, what is the parking situation like at the harbors? Is the shoreline fishing access pretty easy? If you have directions, it would be helpful.

Thanks.

·
Registered
654 Posts
I've never really fished from Belmont but I've tried Montrose a couple of times. I don't know what the SMB situation is there right now but the kings should be coming in.
I would say that you will definitely need a Salmon stamp if you're at the lakefront. As far as C&R, I would say that if you DO catch a salmon, offer it to one of the other fishermen there. I'm pretty sure that the Salmon come to the harbors to die anyways, and the trauma they endure from being caught just expedites it.
The parking situation at Montrose is good. They have parking all along the road by the horseshoe.

·
Registered
597 Posts
Andrew_R said:
Cool. Thanks for the help and lack of advice. I'll keep it in mind for whenever I'm asked to help someone out the next time I get questions sent over my way.

Sorry. Can't play on weekend of 27th. Won't be in IL. :(
ive only caught 2 salmon in 3 yrs ive been harbor fishing.

I just keep casting spoons and deep cranks cast cast cast cast is really all it is.

Ur gonna need a net

·
Administrator
5,361 Posts