Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
386 Posts
Haha now I'm all excited for a video man.

I'm no expert on powerlining man, I'm sure many here are qualified to tell you what it is but to generalize. Its a weight shot out very far into the lake with a line running down to it with a number of hooks attached with various baits. A signal is attached to the top of the line and then you wait.

If you go out to the harbors (montrose or belmont) or various other lake locations you'll see guys out there with their fire extinguishers (used to propel weight out far) and their rigs.

I've never fished with someone, Mplant I gotta get out with you sometime. In fact I think I'll p.m. you about it now.... haha.

·
Banned
41 Posts
I have gone powerlineing with my cousin, Manny. You shoot a hunk of lead attached to your line out into the lake useibng an fire extingusher. Then you attach a lot of hooks and bait and wait. You attach your line to a rubber band and a little bell. If it wrings you pull in your fishes.

Can you powerlin in Wisco? Manny alwaays wants to go to wis. The dude is driving me batty. Can you use a powrline all year?

·
Registered
1,611 Posts
Basically, a powerline is a trolley line baited with multiple hooks (10+). Some guys throw out their anchors (big weights - from 8 - 12oz or so...) and others propel it with a burst of CO2 (hence, the fire extinguisher). The weight is attached to a rubber band that attaches to your line of hooks. The rubber band pulls the bait out further away from shore.

I'm all geared up for powerlining. Might give it a go this weekend if water temps are favorable.

·
Registered
1,834 Posts
Already have clearance from the tower to do Tuesday dawn patrol at my spot. Bringing the perch rod along too....... whether I get gobys or perch, it's all good. Cannon fodder or fillets right?! 8)

918 Posts