Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been fishing Heidecke for the last 3 years with almost no luck.I have caught a few small walleyes and a few white bass thats it.Just went out there April 2nd and fished for 5 hours, and caught nothing.I have been fishing both sides of the lake with live bait and Rapala rattle traps,and Shad raps, with no luck.while leaving Wed.I was talking to a guy who caught 5 stripers over 17 inches in 2 hours using rapala's,could anyone help please, my kids are starting to become completely disinterested in fishing, I love the lake and I know there are some absolute pigs out there but I just need to be pointed in the right direction.I am mainly using spinning rod and reels MH with 20lb braided line,with either rapalas or live bait and lindy rigs, and I am fishing from a boat.Thanks in advance this site has been a HUGE help in other lakes i have fished and greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
2,602 Posts
what are you going after? if your out there throwing random stuff hoping to catch random fish, your chances go way down. narrow down your target specie and focus your tactics around them.

have you tried chicken livers as live bait? it seems to be a hot live bait of choice for stripers.

i've caught smallies there on xraps but thats about all i can tell you about the bass fishing at heidecke. we've got some heidecke veterans on the site who'll probably jump in later.

·
Super Moderator
6,284 Posts