Chicago Fishing Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was jogging on Sunday around Skokie Lagoons area and in same time looking for places to fish.
I was very surprised to see a gentleman taking home a Largemouth Bass (15"-17") and huge Walleye (25" - 27") He was fishing the dam north of Tower Rd. He sad that both fish were caught on nigh night crawler. Well ...again I am new to this web site and Chicago area so here is few questions I have:

1. In my opinion water quality there looks very poor, so is it safe to eat fish from there?
2. Is it common to see walleye this size in lagoons ?

·
Registered
2,628 Posts
1. No. It is a nice place to fish for sport, but not for eating.

2. On occasion. I have seen a few nice ones. I have never caught a walleye from there myself, but have caught many nice bass. If you have a canoe, kayak, or small boat that is the best way to travel the lagoons.

·
Registered
593 Posts
http://www.idph.state.il.us/envhealth/f ... sories.pdf

No current advisories for Skokie Lagoons.
BUT.. I would pass and walk to Lake Michigan to catch & eat the perch..

There are no advisories for the pond in my neighborhood..
But i still would not eat the bass.
Sometimes runoff of chemicals needs to be seen and not have gov't telling us...

I'm just saying if I was fishing to eat my catch, I'd try another spot.
:D

But its still a great spot to fish!

·
Registered
5,181 Posts
Personally I wouldn't eat anything that comes out of any of the lakes in the area other than LM, but that is me. Unfortunately there are a number of people that take home whatever they catch.

That walleye sounds much bigger than normal size for there.

·
Administrator
5,361 Posts
25"-27" is a helluva a walleye and they are certainly in the Skokie Lagoons. Perhaps not common, but 27" is a great fish anywhere in the area.